Wednesday 28th February 2024
COPYRIGHT © 2024 Thamarai

The Tamil anthem – Semmozhiyaana Tamizh Mozhiyaam

The video for ‘Semmozhiyaana Tamizh Mozhiyaam’, the Tamil anthem has just been released. Composed by A. R. Rahman, penned by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Kalaignar M. Karunanidhi and performed by several leading Tamil artistes of over three generations. The video was directed by Gautham Menon (Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya).

Tamil is a universal language, it should not be confined to a small circle. AR Rahman

The anthem is the theme song for the World Classical Tamil Conference to be held from June 23rd to 27th in Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu. The conference is the first of its kind and a declaration of the Tamil language as a classical language. The Hindu reports that 205 scholars from 27 countries will be attending with 53 experts from Sri Lanka, 37 from Singapore, 29 from Malaysia, 22 from the U.S. and 14 from Canada.n 2004, after years of lobbying by Tamil Scholars, the government of India declared Tamil as a classical language.

A major highlight of the anthem is that it features singers who have distinguished themselves in other genres of music such as Carnatic (Aruna Sairam, Bombay Jayashri, Nithyasree and Sowmya, TN Krishna), folk, Sufi (M.Y. Abdul Ghani, Khajamoideen, S.Sabumoideen) and rap (Blaaze/Kash of Kash & Krissy). Below is a full list of all those who were involved with Semmozhiyaana Tamizh Mozhiyaam.


Lead Singers: A. R. Rahman, T. M. Sounderajan, T. L. Maharajan, P. Susheela, Hariharan, Nithyasree Mahadevan, Chinna Ponnu, Srinivas, Blaaze, Karthik, Naresh Iyer, Chinmayi, Sweatha Mohan, Harini, Shruthi Hassan, Yuvan Shankar Raja, Vijay Yesudas, Gunasekaran, T. N. Krishnan, Aruna Sairam, Sowmya, G. V. Prakash, Raihanah, Susheela Raman, Kash, Bombay Jayashri & Nagoor Brothers.

Backing Vocals: Neha, Ujjayinee, Devan, Krissy, Nithin Raj, Saketh, R. Vijay Narayan, Dr. Narayan, Bhagyaraj, Subiksha, Anita, K. Renu, Maya Sricharan, Kalayani & Raqueeb Alam.

Music Conductor: V. J. Srinivasamurthy

Musicians: A.Sivamani (Drum And Percussion), Purushotham (Tavil) and Natarajan (Nadaswaram).

Recording Engineers/ Technicians : S. Sivakumar, Krishna Chetan, Suresh Perumal, Srinidhi Venkatesh, Kannan Ganpat & Pradeep.

Additional Programming: Krishna Chetan

Mixing Engineers: K. J. Singh, P. A. Deepak & Srinidhi (Assistant).

Mastering Engineer: S.Sivakumar

Musicians Fixer : R.Samidurai

Production In-Charge: B. Velavan

Music Co-Ordinator: Noell James

Project Manager: T.Selvakumar

Recorded, Mixed and Mastered at: Panchathan Record-Inn & A. M. Studios (Chennai)