Thursday 20th June 2024
COPYRIGHT © 2024 Thamarai

Karthick Iyer – Saaveri

Violinist Karthick Iyer has been on our radar for a while, and we are loving this piece he recorded for IndiEarth. The classically-trained musician has played for bands such as The Raghu Dixit Project and Emergence, and also has a solo venture "Karthick Iyer Live".

Accompanied by Naveen Kumar on guitar, Allwyn Paul on percussion and Sumesh Narayan on the mridangam, Karthick Iyer’s piece "Saaveri" is a contemporary take on the Carnatic composition "Muruga Muruga" in the Ragam Saveri, originally composed by Periyasaamy Thooran.

Check out the video below: